Photo of busy people

Card Acquiring Service (CAS)

What is CAS?

Federal agencies use the Card Acquiring Service (CAS) to collect debts via major credit cards, including Visa , MasterCard, Discover, and American Express, as well as most debit cards.

Most federal agencies that accept credit or debit cards for payment must use CAS. The U.S. Postal Service, Army/Air Force Exchange Service, Navy Exchange, the Smithsonian, and other groups with authority to process credit and debit cards on their own do not participate in CAS.

Why Use CAS?

With CAS, agencies can:

  • collect funds with little risk
  • get funds more quickly (next-day)
  • Settle funds
  • see their daily account activity
  • reduce cash holdings
  • eliminate bad checks

Open Gov   My Money.gov   USA.gov
Facebook   Twitter   You Tube   RSS Feed